Soundwalking around London

The conversations and the stories shared by George, Alison, Dorothy and Colin provided a fairly good insight about the kind of sounds that were dominant in the past. However it made me think about how many of these sounds do we still hear? have they disappeared completely, or do we find soft traces of them still but don’t take notice? To discover this firsthand I went on a soundwalk around the city, while recording sounds on my audio recorder.

The path of soundwalk started from a country side like area – South Croydon. One will not experience the kind of rush, the chaotic sounds and traffic that is seen in the central London. So it was good to walk around, listen to nature.. the loud sounds of the wind.. it was refreshing.My walk ended near London Bridge which is an antithesis of the starting point of the soundwalk.

Throughout the walk I noted the sounds I experienced. Most of them were very technologically influenced, more and more as I approached the central London. After I came back home and listened to the re-run of these audio recordings, I noticed that the sounds that are influenced by technology – for instance the beep of the oyster cards at the entrance of the tube station and the beep of a car reversing are very similar to each other. Once I noticed this, I started finding similarities in the sort of sounds we hear everywhere.

img_8717

Are there no unique sounds anymore?

 

 

Leave a Reply

